“We coutned the stars.  I counted her birthmarks.  Never knew bliss like that.  Never will again,” pg. 368

“I dream everyone in the world is asleep, dreaming….I dream lovers who glimpse each other long before they become lovers, and I dream the songs they fall in love to, and I dream the songwriters who find the songs….I dream of a girl, drowning, resigned to her fate now that she knows there is not possibility of being saved by her brother….I dream of a girl, drowning, resigned to her fate now that she knows there is no possibility of being saved by her brother.  Her willowy body is passed from current to current, tide to tide, until it has dissolved into pure blue, and I am sorry, but she knows I am sorry, and she wants me to let her go because she does not want me to drown too, which I will, if I spend the rest of my life looking for her,” p. 399.

